Remember When?

Image

remember when

Remember when you read your first romance, your first paranormal, your first sizzling hot novel?

Back in the day, I wouldn’t have described myself as a romance reader, even though I did read gothics by Victoria Holt and Dorothy Eden, and romance suspense by Mary Stewart and Evelyn Anthony.

The first “romances” I read were probably those written by Kathleen Woodiwiss:

Not long after that, I discovered Harlequin, Mills & Boon, Silhouette and Candlelight Ecstasy romances, in particular:

And…

Heartbreaker by Charlotte Lamb

And…

And…

And then I discovered the…sizzlers!

And that was just the beginning…

So what about you? What were the books that turned you onto romance?

7 responses »

  1. Hi Becke!

    Beverly Cleary’s “The Luckiest Girl”, which was more about going steady, hand holding and a chaste kiss. Then I got my hands on Peyton Place. Not exactly a romance, but I loved the gritty reality beneath the facade of a picturesque small town. I read a lot of Rona Jaffe, Danielle Steele and Judith Krantz.

    • I loved PEYTON PLACE, too! And Rona Jaffe’s THE BEST OF EVERYTHING. And, of course, back when I was in high school, everyone was reading THE VALLEY OF THE DOLLS. Another blockbuster I liked was THE GODFATHER – the book wasn’t as good as the movie, but it wasn’t half bad either. And I adore BABS H. DEAL, but no one has heard of her anymore.

      I’ve read more Judith Krantz than I realized – I liked MISTRAL’S DAUGHTER and SCRUPLES, too.

      Oh, and how could I forget Colleen McCullough’s THE THORN BIRDS? Loved it!!

  2. Okay, now there never was any doubt in my mind that we were perfect as CP’s, but this is simply proof positive! OMG! All of the above. I started out with Harlequin; Ann Mather had to be one of my favorite authors, but then an older friend told me about Kathleen E. Woodiwiss. I simply loved her stories.

    My first paranormal was so long ago, a vampire hero…I can’t remember. He died in the end, but the heroine lived on, pregnant with his little vamp baby. It was all over after that. I couldn’t get enough.

  3. LOL – I’m not at all surprised, Gabriella! (Even though I’m sooo much older than you!)

    I loved Ann Mather, Carol Mortimer, Margaret Way, Violet Winspear, Karen Van Der Zee, Betty Neels, Sandra Field, Patricia McLinn, Penny Jordan, Marie Ferrarella, Candace Schuler – too many to list!

  4. GREAT post!! I remember sneaking into my mom’s closet and getting her HLQ! She would do a weekly book exchange and I couldn’t wait until she went to work so I could begin my weekly reading!

  5. Can you believe I didn’t read my first romance until I was almost married? My mother-in-law gave me my first romance book to read. Of course, it was a Viking/Irish romance. LOVED it. Was hooked and never looked back. It’s all I read!

    Thanks for the trip back in time, Anya!

  6. Tonya – Do you remember which HQ authors you read or especially liked back then? Oooh, I just remembered Margaret Pargeter – she should be on my list, too.

    Renee – Of COURSE it was a Viking/Irish romance!! Do you remember which one it was?

    I just did a separate post on my introduction to paranormals. I’d love to hear which ones you all read first, too!

Leave a Reply

