Some Like it Hot

Standard

readingMJ

I just changed the setting for this blog to “mature.” It’s not especially mature right now, but I have a lot of friends who write erotica and/or hot romance, and I’d like them to be able to post excerpts of their books here.

I admit I have one of those cute Vera Bradley book covers to hide what I’m reading from the public. I tend to use those if I’m sitting at the airport, where I don’t want skeezy (is that a word?) guys snickering at what I’m reading.

But, these days, I’m not so shy about admitting that I like my reading on the sizzling side. I’m no spring chicken, and if I feel like reading something that stirs my blood, it’s no one’s business but my own.

Lora Leigh? You betcha. Hot vamps, a la J.R. Ward or Kresley Cole? Oooh, yeah. Shapeshifters, selkies, dragons and werewolves? Give me more Nalini Singh, Virginia Kantra, G. A. Aiken, Shana Abe and all those many paranormals that I love so much!

What about you? Do you read the sizzlers, or are you uncomfortable with the more graphic side of romance? If you like the steamy books, who are your favorite authors? I like Lacey Alexander, for one, and I recently discovered Beth Kery. There are many more on my must-read list, but I want to hear about YOUR favorites!

By the way, if you think hot stuff is something new, just go to Google and search: Édouard-Henri Avril. Or go to Two Nerdy History Girls today, and read a piece of historical prose that sings the praises of Signor Dildo: http://twonerdyhistorygirls.blogspot.com

About anyadavis

Anya Davis writes in the real world, on a slightly tilted axis. Faux angels, humans with the genes of gods . . . and wolves. Dark suspense and wickedly erotic paranormals: reality, reimagined. Anya is a member of the Ohio Valley chapter of Romance Writers of America. She is unpublished, but working hard.

15 responses »

  1. Great topic!

    My all time favs are Lora Leigh, Kresley Cole, Sarah McCarty and Rhyannon Byrd to name the top four. I go back and forth between mainstream and erotic romance. The book has to have a good plot, intriguing conflict, or dark paranormals, but it doesn’t have to be all sex, all the time. I love crackling sexual tension that flows through the whole story. I think all of the authors mentioned above do that very well.

    Now, there are other authors I dig reading just for their hot sexual situations like: Megan Hart, Portia da Costa, Jory Strong, Chritine Warren, Saskia Walker, and Crystal Jordan. I know I’m missing so many names, but there are so many talented authors out there who write very sexy, very good stories. I love trolling the ePubs online for my next decadent feast.

    All for research mind you, Anya! All for research!

  2. Oh, Sarah McCarty is right at the top of my list — how could I forget her? In fact, I’ve read and liked most of the authors you mentioned here. (And I’ll have to check out the others!)

  3. Yep, I had to stop myself from mauling her at the LF event this year. She’s awesome and so nice! I want to be her when I grow up! As for other authors I’ve read, even the real raunchy ones, I’ll send you a list via email.

  4. I definitely prefer my romance on the hot side, although that doesn’t necessarily mean explicit. Witness the love scenes in Jenny Crusie’s romances, or Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

    And while I don’t care if 99% of the world knows what I read, I have to admit to a certain squeamishness about those bare-chested covers in professional offices. (Or those books with the horrible names, like The Greek Baby Food Billionaire’s Secretary Lover. ) That’s where I’d probably swap my fiction for a book on craft.

    Welcome to WordPress, by the way. I’m partial to the MistyLook theme. 🙂

  5. I agree about reading the books with sexy covers in the office. I tend to pull out my Vera Bradley book cover if I’m reading in a business location — I work from home, but go to non-writing trade shows where I wouldn’t want to flash my books at anyone.

  6. LOL, Hope! I LOVE that title and want to read that book now!

    Oh, I know about the covers! I walked into a bookstore and bought a favorite published by Ellora’s Cave–a while ago–and the cover was enough to make me blush! A very buff, naked male graced the cover. He was clasping a sword in front of his package so it was legal in my county, but Holy Mother of Pearl, I almost choked when I saw it! I can tell you my face had to be beet-red when I paid for it. The guy behind the counter blinked twice when he saw it, but just raised a superior eyebrow and checked me out.

    I now read most of my books via e-reader and so happy not to repeat that experience.

    This sounds like another blog topic, doesn’t it, Anya?

  7. Ha! I meant the topic could be on covers, but someone just did that one. How about the most embarrassing experience related to a book cover–mine was mild, but I’m sure there are some cringe worthy stories out there.

  8. Well, this was only mildly embarrassing, but still . . . I’m known at my local bookstore because I used to be active in PTO, and we did holiday gift wrapping at this bookstore as a fundraiser for many years. I know just about everybody who works there, and they all seem inordinately interested in what I buy!

    I was at the cash register with a stack of romances and mysteries, and the sweet older woman (okay, she’s not a whole lot older than I am, but she ACTS older) raises her eyebrows when she scans one of the books.

    “Oh, honey,” she says. “I don’t know if you’re going to want this one. I’ve heard it has SEX SCENES in it.” She shook her head sadly at such a shocking detail.

    “Really?” I replied, the picture of bewildered innocence. “Oh, well. I might as well check it out, since you’ve already rung it up.”

    One guess why I buy my hot stuff online these days?

  9. Bring on the Karen Marie Moning! I’ve only read one J.R. Ward so far but loved her.

    And I have yet to have anyone raise an eyebrow about a book cover. Mostly women asking me, “Which one is that?” (most recently while waiting in the ER!)

  10. Thanks for posting, Elysabeth!

    Oh, I like her books, too! Others I forgot to mention — Colette Dale, Maya Banks, Emma Holly, Lauren Dane, Rosemary Laurey, J. C. Wilder — and, of course, Gabriella Edwards.

Leave a Reply

