Tapping into Tarot

Standard

mystic-faerie-tarot

Merriam-Webster defines tarot as:

Main Entry: tar·ot
Pronunciation: \ˈter-(ˌ)ō, ˈta-(ˌ)rō\
Function: noun
Etymology: Middle French, from Italian tarocchi (plural)
Date: circa 1623
: any of a set of usually 78 playing cards including 22 pictorial cards used for fortune-telling
images

I’ve always been fascinated with tarot, but never took the time to study it. I’ve read countless books that featured tarot cards as clues or elements of the plot — cards like the Hanged Man, the Tower, the Magician and the Fool come to mind.

When the NEO chapter of RWA offered a tarot course taught by Arwen Lynch earlier this year, I signed up eagerly. I’d bought a very cool deck of art nouveau cards a year or two ago, and I figured I was ready to begin my education in divination.

The class was fascinating, and I did learn something about how to read the cards, how to draw and display cards, and what the Major Arcana were. Most of the participants had some idea of what they were doing, though, while I was totally clueless. Still, it was a start.

I still want to learn more — if I ever can find the time for a serious study of tarot. I have a sneaking suspicion part of the attraction is the gorgeous tarot decks I’ve seen. If I decide to work tarot into a story plot, that would give me justification to buy more of those beautiful decks!

What about you? Do you read tarot? Have you used tarot as a plot device? What are your favorite books that featured tarot cards?

About anyadavis

Anya Davis writes in the real world, on a slightly tilted axis. Faux angels, humans with the genes of gods . . . and wolves. Dark suspense and wickedly erotic paranormals: reality, reimagined. Anya is a member of the Ohio Valley chapter of Romance Writers of America. She is unpublished, but working hard.

2 responses »

  1. I think we should go and have our fortunes read with Tarot cards. Wonder how much it would cost? Bet Keri knows someone. That would be fun.

    Of course, they will probably just say, “you will get fatter and I see lots of rewrites in your future.” Sigh.

Leave a Reply

