Meet Author Ann Gregory!

Standard

When I heard about Ann Gregory’s adventures in the name of research, I knew I had to invite her to write about it here. Ann (whose real name is Judy Carpenter) is a fabulous interviewer for the Ohio Valley RWA newsletter so I was nervous when asked if I could interview her. She is an inspired interviewer, so it was hard to compete! Without further ado, please welcome ANN GREGORY!

Anya: Thanks for sharing your adventure with us! Anything else up your sleeve—attending FBI training courses? Sitting in on an autopsy? How far would you go to make your books accurate?

Ann: I doubt the FBI would let a 61 yo, overweight, 4’10” woman take the course, LOL. And I doubt I could make it through an autopsy—I hide my eyes watching “House” when the blood starts spurting. But I would get a good book on anatomy. I’m not usually adventurous—the trip to Target World is really atypical of me, but occasionally I “take a notion” and do something unexpected.

Anya: You could have fooled me! Tell us about yourself – how long have you been writing, and what are you working on now?

Ann: I’ve been writing all my life, just not “formally”. When I was in second grade, I wrote a “book”. I had it all plotted out in my head—sci-fi with aliens, death, destruction, mayhem, but when I put it on paper it ended up being about two paragraphs long. It was my first brush with reality—putting down on paper what was going on in my head was not as easy as I’d thought.

I finished my first real book, a Regency romance, in the mid-nineties. Right now I’m writing a steampunk story, working title “Captain Coffin and the Coastal Smugglers”.

Anya: Steampunk? I love it! Can you share your pitch or book blurb with us?

Ann: Captain Coffin (nicknamed “Captain Death” for his penchant for bringing in all his captives dead) reluctantly travels to the east English coast where people are disappearing. He suspects it’s simply the normal attrition of smugglers, but what he finds is far more sinister…

Anya: It sounds fascinating – I hope I’ll get to read it one day! What’s your writing process like? Are you a plotter or a pantser?

Ann: I tend to be more of a plotter. I have to know where the story is going before I can write it. But I did finish a 40k novella in the 2009 NoNoWriMo, and it was mostly pantser, though I had been kicking the book around in my head for a while.

Anya: Congrats on successfully participating in NaNoWriMo! Have you told your family about your books? Does your mom read your books, or your husband? Is this an issue for you?

Ann: I wrote a story about my mother once, and she read it, but afterward I think her feelings were hurt. I had tried to be honest, and I didn’t really consider the story to be harsh, but looking back I think I should have been less honest, more forgiving. I never considered it might hurt her to see something in black and white.

She won’t read anything I write now, and it hurts a little, but I understand. Bill reads a page here, a page there, and he’s a good spelling/grammar checker. But I think my stories bore him. If I threw in some sports, he’d like it better. It doesn’t bother me. He’s never critical.

Anya: I’m so sorry sharing your story put distance between you and your mother. On the other hand, I think there is something to be said for honesty in writing, even when it’s potentially painful. It’s cathartic, for one thing.

On a lighter note, tell us about your interests and activities in your “real” life.

Ann: I love church activities. I also like to sew, quilt, crochet, make soap, spend time with grandchildren.

Anya: You make soap? That sounds like a topic for another blog!

Who are some of your favorite authors, and what are some of your favorite books? (For example, if you could only keep five books, what would they be?)

Ann: My all time favorite book is Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austin. I also like Persuasion, Sense and Sensibility, and Emma.

I like the “Light” series by Terri Blackstock. I like Georgette Heyer books (more Regencies), and murder mysteries.

I have nine book cases in my house, five full size, four half size.  I have a lot of reference and Bible study material. When I first pondered “which five”, I thought NO WAY. But I finally decided I would take the Bible, Pride and Prejudice, a book of William Shakespeare’s comedies, and a one-volume collection of W. Somerset Maugham.

For the last book it would depend on where I would spend my time without all my other books. If I had to cook (it would not be my choice), I would take my old Betty Crocker loose-leaf basic cookbook. If I didn’t have to cook, I’d take Cosmos, by Carl Sagan, or The Book of Virtues, which has a wide range of stories, everything from nursery rhymes to fables to morality tales. Or maybe I’d take The Complete Anthology of English and American Poetry. Or To Kill a Mockingbird. Or 1001 Arabian Nights. Or maybe… Sheesh. How long do I get to decide?


Anya: Still on the subject of books, which books/authors turned you on to romance?

Ann: Jane Austin instilled a love of romance and Regency England in me that still breathes freely.  I’ve been in love with Mr. Darcy all my life. I would also marry Mr. Knightly or Captain Wentworth, if they would only ask.


Anya: What were your favorite books as a child?

Ann: The Lost Princess of Oz, by L. Frank Baum, was the first full length book I ever read. I was probably about eight or nine. In high school I fell in love with The Sherwood Ring, written in 1958 by Elizabeth Marie Pope. I ordered it from Amazon a few years back, and it’s just as good reading now as it was then. It’s set during the American Revolution, and has intrigue, romance, ghosts, and history all together, which all appeal to me. I also liked the Bobbsey Twins and the Hardy Boys. I never knew of Nancy Drew until I was too old for them.


Anya: What have been some important turning points in your life?

Ann: The usual: marriage, birth, divorce, children, death of my father, retirement…

Judy, Age 6

Anya: Who are your hotties (in real life, fiction or TV/movies)?

Ann: Nathan Fillion (Castle, Firefly), Alex O’Loughlin (Hawaii Five-O, Moonlight), Shemar Moore (Criminal Minds, Diary of a Mad Black Woman), the guy in the Old Spice commercials


Anya: Where would you like to be, career-wise, in five years?

Ann: I’d like to have one or two of my books published. I don’t expect to get rich, but extra money always helps.

Anya: Tell us a couple of little-known facts about yourself.

Ann: I’m one of those people who is pretty much an open book. But I love to play hidden-object computer games, and if I’m not careful I can waste major portions of my day on them.  I also tend to be obsessive/compulsive about things, especially when I first get involved with something. When I started making soap, I didn’t just make soap. I made TONS of soap. It was all over the house. Then I learned to make bath salts, lotions, salves, balms, lip gloss, and so on. I even taught seminars on how to make soap and lotion. I’d go to sleep at night thinking of different kinds of soap to make. But then one day I woke up, and I was done with soap—didn’t make any more for a long time. That’s how I am with a lot of things.

Anya: When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Ann: A journalist or interior decorator. But when I got old enough to realize there were a lot less demanding jobs than journalist, and that it didn’t pay very well, and that interior decorating was really kind of boring, I decided to seek different ways to write and be artistic. I’m not sorry I gave them up.

Judy, Age 15

Anya: Thanks very much for answering all my questions!

Ann: It was my pleasure.

Check out Ann/Judy’s blog, TEA WITH ME: http://thegenericedge.blogspot.com/

Ann is on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/annofelm

About anyadavis

Anya Davis writes in the real world, on a slightly tilted axis. Faux angels, humans with the genes of gods . . . and wolves. Dark suspense and wickedly erotic paranormals: reality, reimagined. Anya is a member of the Ohio Valley chapter of Romance Writers of America. She is unpublished, but working hard.

4 responses »

  1. What a wonderful interview niece Judy.
    You have always been so sweet, very smart, kind and
    generous. Wishing you all the success in your writings.
    Love Aunt Georgia and Uncle Edward.

  2. Hi Georgia (and Edward)! Thanks so much for stopping by! Be sure to scroll down and read Ann/Judy’s great blog: “Guns, Goals and Girls.” It’s fascinating!

    I’m a big fan of Judy’s, too, and I’m hoping she reaches her goals as an author!

  3. Loved the gun story from ther other day. The things we do for research.

    I wrote a story about my mom, once. I think I’ll learn from your experience and never let her read it.

    Good luck with the writing.

  4. Hi Tina – Isn’t the gun story great? I’d kind of like to do that, too, but my husband would think I was nuts. I think it would be cool!

    I’d love to hear from others reading Ann/Judy’s post – how far would YOU go to research your books?

Leave a Reply

